Theater Begins Here 


Download the 2014-15 Jerome Fellowship application (PDF) »
Download the 2014-15 Jerome Fellowship Reference Form (PDF) »

Application due: November 21, 2013

Jerome Fellowships
The Playwrights' Center Jerome Fellowships are awarded annually, providing emerging American playwrights with funds and services to aid them in the development of their craft. Four $16,000 fellowships will be awarded in 2014, in addition to $1,500 in development support. Fellows spend a year-long residency in Minnesota and have access to Center opportunities, including workshops with professional directors, dramaturgs and actors.

The Playwrights' Center has awarded these fellowships in partnership with the Jerome Foundation since 1976. Past recipients include Lee Blessing, Lisa D'Amour, Kristoffer Diaz, Dan Dietz, Sarah Gubbins, Naomi Iizuka, Melanie Marnich, Rhiana Yazzie, Martín Zimmerman and August Wilson.

Selection Process
Applicants are screened for eligibility by the Playwrights' Center and evaluated by an initial select panel of professional theater artists; finalists are then evaluated by a second panel of national theater artists. Selection is based on artistic excellence, potential for growth, and commitment to a vital life working in the field. The selection process is guided by the Playwrights' Center's mission statement. The Playwrights' Center does not participate in selection decisions.

Questions may be addressed to Artistic Administrator Amanda Robbins-Butcher.

Back to Top

Jake Jeppson

Jerome Fellowships   

Jake Jeppson’s plays include Fox Play, The Clearing, and Turtle. They have been developed and produced in New York, DC, Chicago, and recently Estonia and Latvia. Jake is a member of the Play Group at Ars Nova and a contributing artist in the XS collaborative. He graduated from the MFA Playwriting Program at the Yale School of Drama, where he won the ASCAP Cole Porter Prize. He has taught playwriting at Wesleyan University, Yale, NTI, and the Orchard Project, where he co-founded the apprentice program. In addition to his plays, Jake contributes writing to the National Geographic Channel. He grew up in Washington, DC.

Back to Top

Basil Kreimendahl

Core Apprentices //  Jerome Fellowships //  

Basil Kreimendahl’s play Sidewinders will have its world premiere at The Cutting Ball Theater in San Francisco as part of their 2013/2014 season. Orange Julius was developed at the 2012 O’Neill National Playwrights Conference and included in La Jolla Playhouse’s DNA new work series. Basil's plays have also been developed by New York Theatre Workshop, About Face Theatre, Inkwell, WordBRIDGE, Courier 12 Collective in Chicago, Stageworks in Florida, and Oregon Shakespeare Festival. Basil was a Core Apprentice at the Minneapolis Playwright’s Center 2012/2013, and a recipient of an Arts Meets Activism grant from the Kentucky Foundation for Women for theatre work with the trans community in Louisville. Basil has taught playwriting to elementary, high school and college students, founded and ran a playwrights group for queer youth in Louisville called Out On The Edge, and is the Provost’s Visiting Writer at the University of Iowa 2013/2014. Basil’s work has been published by Dramatic Publishing and included in Xlibria’s Becoming: Young Ideas on Gender and Identity, Dancing the Dark was included in Actors Theatre of Louisville's 24-hour play festival, The Cost of a Goat won a National Science Award at KCACTF in 2012. BFA University of Tampa MFA University of Iowa, 2013.

Back to Top

Sarah Saltwick

Jerome Fellowships   

She writes new love stories between people, places, and things. Her plays are built of hope and danger; fantasy and history; that which is impossible and that which is necessary. In 2012 - 2013, her adaptation of The Scarlet Letter was featured on UT Austin's mainstage, her play She Creatures was produced by Nouveau 47 in Dallas, TX and she developed We Are StarStuff, a theatrical experiment about the cosmos, for the Cohen New Works Festival presented by the University Co-op.   Her work has been presented, developed or produced by the University of Texas at Austin, Nouveau 47, Westmont College, paper chairs theatre company, TheatreMasters, Scriptworks, WordBRIDGE, Bristol Riverside Theater, Shrewd Productions, and Last Frontier Theatre Conference. She has been a finalist for the Heideman Award and the Bay Area Playwrights Festival and was twice nominated for Best New Play by the Austin Critics Table. She's written plays inspired by giant rabbits, Texas, guacamole, Dolly Parton and more. Her fiction has been published by Escape Into Life and is forthcoming in Timber Magazine.

Back to Top

Deborah Yarchun

Jerome Fellowships   

Deborah Yarchun’s plays include The Aleph Complex, The Man in the Sukkah, Portmanteaux, FreezeFrame and Painted Desert. They have been developed at The New Harmony Project, Jewish Plays Project OPEN Residency, The Great Plains Theater Conference, Rattlestick Playwrights Theatre, Sanctuary Playwrights Theater, and WordBRIDGE and produced at Theater Master’s National MFA Playwrights Festival, Estrogenius Festival, The Samuel French Off Off Broadway Festival, Playwrights Horizons' Peter Jay Sharp Theater by Young Playwrights Inc, the Philadelphia Fringe Festival and at  theaters and universities across the United States and in Canada. Deborah’s honors include the Kennedy Center’s Jean Kennedy Smith Playwriting Award, University of Iowa’s Richard Maibaum Playwriting Award, and The Iowa Arts Fellowship. She has also been a finalist for the Heideman Award. M.F.A. University of Iowa, 2013.  

bottom rule

©2002-2014 The Playwrights' Center / All Rights Reserved | 2301 East Franklin Avenue, Minneapolis, MN 55406-1099 | Privacy Policy | Terms and Conditions